5SOS delivers calming music in chaotic world


Apple Music

5SOS released their album “CALM” on March 27, 2020.

Paige Evers '22, Web Editor

Last week, on March 27, 2020, Australian pop-rock band 5 Seconds of Summer (5SOS) dropped their fourth album, “CALM,” coincidentally during a time when we all need a little bit more of it. After their five single releases off the album, fans were ready to experience all 12 songs as a whole. While the title “CALM” has nothing to do with the emotions or music displayed in the album, it’s an acronym for the band members’ names: Calum Hood (bass), Ashton Irwin (drums), Luke Hemmings (leading vocals) and Michael Clifford (guitar).

The group’s last album, “Youngblood,” topped the charts on iTunes, and so has “CALM”, with the two finding themselves to be in the Top Five. Both of these recent albums have dipped into more of an electronic-oriented vibe alongside their well-known, raw guitar, bass, drums and vocals they started out with in 2011. Over the years, their sound has matured and they have become more lyrically daring in regards to their songwriting. With their first self-titled album, “5 Seconds of Summer,” their tone was shaped around teen rebelliousness, but in “CALM,” their sound exemplifies their confidence and honesty in writing about their emotions, life and society.

“Easier” was the first single released off the album, showcasing the beginning of the harmonies, beats and instruments they would be using throughout the rest of the album. Their third single release, “No Shame”, is, lyrically, one of the best. This is especially shown in its connections to society and the ideas that everyone seems to have something to say and everything is shared online. In contrast, their fourth single, “Old Me,” reflects heavily on their past and owning their mistakes.

The first track on “CALM” is “Red Desert”, which opens the album up to this mystical and immersive 70’s daydream. The song starts out with harmonies and guitars, but picks up into the chorus with the fast beat of the drums. Following the first track are all the singles, which finally seem to fit in the album as a collective. The tenth track, “Thin White Lies”, starts out with an edgy guitar and keeps a consistent chorus beat, giving off a groove that flows.

One honorable mention is “Wildflower,” the fifth single and the euphoric anthem of the album. With its harmonies, synths and vocals, optimism is the only feeling to be felt.

My personal favorites include “Best Years” and “High.” “Best Years” is a slower, sanguine love song that has beautiful vocal progressions in the chorus, accompanying a very strong underlying bass tone to it. “High,” the last song on the album, was written in a very honest, unassuming way; sung with many falsettos, capturing the essence of the song.

Overall, I rate “CALM” a 9/10. The album is very diverse, lyrically and instrumentally. If you enjoy pop, electronic, alternative or love-exploring genres, I would highly recommend a listen to this album.